Judgement days

April 1, 2009

The Property Awards are the industry’s top accolades. This year judging took place in two stages. First, the 280-strong Property Academy of the industry’s top names nominated their candidates for this year’s awards. Then our specialist judging panels convened over two days to whittle down the nominees into shortlists, before finally deciding on the winners. All the judging sessions took place at Mosimann’s in central London in February

Five dedicated panels decided our agency categories:


Retail/Leisure Agency Team of the Year


Phil Cottingham, Quintain Estates
John Gatley, the Junction
Jenefer Greenwood, Grosvenor
Sheila King, Hammerson
John Wood, the Mall


Investment Agency Team of the Year


Don Jordison, Threadneedle Property Investments
Robert Noel, Great Portland Estates
Chris Perkins, Prupim
Tim Turnbull, Hermes
Ian Watson, Hansteen
Ian Womack, Aviva


Industrial Agency Team of the Year


Henry Angell-James, Graftongate
Stuart Bedford, Exton Estates
Jason Dalby, Goodman
Mike Hughes, HelioSlough
Rupert Mucklow, Mucklow
Nick Redwood, Gazeley
Richard Saint, Bericote Properties


Office Agency Team of the Year


Toby Courtauld, Great Portland Estates
Peter Ferrari, Heron International
James Howarth, Abstract Land
Mike Hussey, Land Securities
Daniel Van Gelder, Exemplar
Paul Williams, Derwent London


Professional Agency Team of the Year


Peter Bennett, City of London
Robert MacGregor, Berwin Leighton Paisner
Lewis Myers, SJ Berwin
Alasdair Nicholls, Native Land
Robin Priest, Deloitte
Katrine Sporle, Planning Inspectorate


Specialist Judging panel One


Deliberated over Newcomer of the Year, Occupier of the Year and Property Innovation of the Year


Hugh Bullock, Gerald Eve
Robert Dagwell, Sanderson Weatherall
Alan Dornford, NB Real Estate
David Hammond, Allsop
Chris Haworth, Carter Jonas
Philip Lewis, Lambert Smith Hampton
Patrick McMahon, Bidwells
Bill Siegle, Cluttons
Brian Sloggett, GL Hearn


Specialist Judging panel Two


Decided on Property Company of the Year, Developer of the Year and Property Fund Manager of the Year


Richard Batten, King Sturge
David Erwin, Cushman & Wakefield
Simon Hope, Savills
Tony Joyce, GVA Grimley
Andrew Martin, Strutt & Parker
Robert Peto, DTZ
Gary Powell, Colliers CRE
Nick Shepherd, Drivers Jonas
John Stephen, Jones Lang LaSalle
Mike StrongCB Richard Ellis